Every Page

I let the beast tear to shreds
the sheets of pure white on my bed.
The snow fell in tangent
and spilled through the attic
and froze like soft beads on my head.
And I dreamed that there were ghosts in his eyes
as conspicuous as the sun in rainy skies.
And they haunted some shadow
that filled the well until overflown
and the rims of his lids swelled as he cried.

I stole a glance from my book,
and pondered some thought that he took.
I forget what I knew
and forsake lowering my view,
I’m stolen by that sweet, broken look.
And I watched the sun flicker out
and the butterflies flittered around,
before a fleet to the sky
to become the stars in his eyes
with wings beating soft without sound.

And I saw a harp by the place
where the fire burned bright and erased
the things he threw in,
every nightmare, every dream,
every part of his past, every page.

7 thoughts on “Every Page

  1. hauntingly beautiful, you have beautiful imaginings clothed in a lovely musical landscape, love this one ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. MJ,
    I am here by way of CG and just had to check out your poetry. Pretty nice stuff and my Mom was poet who paid her dues for years before she was discovered and published. You really have some very poems up here.

    I love the way you parsed back at CG and I am thinking you ARE a spoiled princess and nothing wrong with that except you can make your own sandwiches and grub. But then when I think too much that usually makes people mad and grumpy with me but then I do not give a damn.

    Yes, I am one of those white guys who is thankfully clinging to his guns and religion or spirituality but can seriously appreciate when one has talent with words and prose. You most certainly do and I might even return a time or two and may even toss you post up on my site. Of course one must realize my site is on the serious side and not for the politically correct or kool aid drinkers.

  3. Sorry about missing a few words on my first comment. Not feeling very well but no whining or sniveling allowed.

    Should have read: : “You really have some very nice, soulful poems up here.”

    “I might even return a time or two and may even toss you a post up on my site. I have some followers and regulars who love poetry and literature. They will appreciate your writing!”

    OK, I am going back to pissing people off and being grumpy.

  4. Hey, I just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award! See my post (http://lettersfromthewasteland.com/2012/06/02/illuminating-blogger-award/) for details on accepting the award. Congrats!

  5. i love your blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I nominated your blog for the Liebster Award, more info can be found here – http://orbitaldecay.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/liebster-award-nomination-2/

  6. i nominated you for the Mrs. Sparklyโ€™s Ten Commandments Award! here is the link: http://orbitaldecay.wordpress.com/2012/06/17/mrs-sparkly-ten-commandments-nomination/
    hugs!

Leave a Reply

